K5_Zurich District 5

Kreis 5

The city of Zurich officially has 12 urban districts, called Stadtkreis. They are simply numbered from 1 to 12. District 5, known as “Industriequartier”, between the Limmat River and the train tracks leaving Zurich train mainstation hauptbanhof, it contains the former industrial area of Zurich which has gone under a large-scale rezoning to create upscale modern housing, retail and commercial.
District 5 has been undergoing an urban planning process that is transforming it from a monofunctional industrial zone into a mixed function urban district.